Finishing this book, I can say that I really enjoyed it and would even consider going to buy it in hardcopy. I respect his opinion on copyright that he expresses in the final chapter. I found it interesting that he values what people might accomplish with his written words. I had never heard of “Creative Commons” but I find that it should be inspirational to other authors. This is a man who values the outspoken, opinionated people who are creative and passionate enough to be inspired by his writing and take it to another level. By stating that “all rights are not reserved” it allows the reader to take his message one step further. It also allows his message to get spread by numerous voices. For example, our class writes a blog post about his book once a week. I wonder if he reads any of it?

I also found Chapter 9 to be very interesting when he talked about how photoshop and other image/sound editing technology has changed the validity of everything. He states that “photos are evidence of nothing in particular.” I never thought about this. A picture has always been the most valid type of proof or evidence and it is strange to think that this concept has changed. This can be applied in any situation; the news, magazines, newspaper, TV, politics, etc. can we trust nothing?

I also agreed with his statements about staying anonymous online. He made some good arguments about why it is necessary such as private matters that could affect your personal life if people knew who you are; such as illnesses, sexual orientation, or political slant. On the other side he made a statement that I entirely agree with. If you are going to make an argument or statement of some meaning you will not have any credibility if you don’t state who you are. He quotes, “Credibility stems not just from smart argument, it also comes from a willingness to stand behind those arguments.” I couldn’t find this more true! I find it irritating when someone online is “trolling” just to be annoying yet they won’t state who they are. This causes many problems online. It allows people to cause problems without any consequences.

Overall I enjoyed the book and will most likely read it again.

