The final few chapters were very informative regarding issues that may arise from today’s technologies and advances. The chapter spoke about libel, copyright issues, publishing items with malice, and other things that should be watched out for when people are blogging, podcasting, or referring to or borrowing other people’s own work. There are countless of sticky situations that now are very possible to us.

Just recently, I put up my first episode of my final project and linked a cute picture of a heart I found on google pictures. Well, it never occurred to me that I would need to prove I received permission to use this photo by the original creator in order to use it in my final project.

I could have gotten sued for copyright infringement, etc. The chapters that spoke about these technical problems really helped get a better idea about what is okay and what is not regarding using material available on the web.

He also touched on cookies and other smaller technical aspects of surfing the web. Personally, I like cookies because they save all my passwords onto the websites I visit most frequently. The reason this is okay is because I am the only one who uses this computer and there is a lock on it when you first try to turn it on. Of course, with public computers, cookies are very very dangerous. It gives access to strangers all of your information if you do not make sure you have successfully logged out of the website. Clicking “X” simply does not cut it.

Overall reading all the chapter of Gilmore’s book was very interesting and informative. I learned a lot about the author’s perspective on new media, and helpful information I never knew.

