While reading the last three chapters of We the Media, I was intrigued with chapter 11 and the example about China. In 2003, China blocked access to blogs and other news sources. China censored information from the Internet based on the source’s political ideology. China didn’t want their citizens to have free, unfettering access to other news sources. I would assume China doesn’t want its citizens to read or view anything that would reflect poorly on the country and its political leaders.

This led me to try a little Google experiment. First, I googled “Tiananmen Square massacre” in the U.S. version of Google. The Images page was filled with pictures of violence, blood, death and gore. Then, I googled the same exact phrase in the Chinese version of Google. This time, the Images page showed pictures of tanks, tourists at Tiananmen Square and there was one violent image (it must have squeaked through).

As an American university student, I take for granted the wealth of uncensored information that are at my fingertips. It seems unbelievable to me that my government would censor certain information because it reflects negatively on the United States. When I write President Bush is a dimwit, I’m not worried that the government would censor me or that I could be reprimanded for stating an opinion.

