The more I read into Dan Gillmor’s We the Media the more I find things that both shock me and make me think twice about the information I take in. In the first few pages of chapter 9 Gilllmor talks about the problems of online news articles being passed on through the process of cut an paste. In many occasions people who would write a news article and it would get passed on virally and somewhere along the line the message would get twisted. Kinda like that game telephone that we used to play back in elementary school.

When you think about the impact this could have if it was important information that was being misrepresented. This could stain good peoples reputations and possibly ruin their careers. It makes me think twice about information i get from the Internet, and always consider whether or not it is a reliable source.

