While I agree with Dan Gillmor about the future potential of new media to totally change how we get our news, I don’t feel that it has quite reached the level that it needs to be at to compete with big media. While the internet is a great source for getting virtually any information that you are looking for, it doesn’t have a large enough percentage of the population tuned in. We live in(arguably) the most high tech community in the world. Silicon valley is on the cutting edge of new technologies, however still most of its population get their news from television an newspaper, and some still from radio. If it is still like this in the capitol of tech, imagine how it is in say, Fargo North Dakota.

I’m not trying to say that new media is a failing idea, in fact I whole heartedly agree that it is the future of information. I just don’t think we have arrived(as a population) quite yet.

