Ryan Sholin’s presentation was very informative and interesting. I have always been amazed at how communication is changing everyday. With technology advancing so fast these days, who knows how our world will be in 5 years, 10 years, and 50 years? I don’t know whether to like the fact that communication is changing so drastically or not. I like how back in the day, people value each other’s company so much more and i feel like relationships meant so much more. Back then, people were limited to talking to a small amount of people because technology was limited. Now with the internet, people don’t get a very personal connection. At least for me. I can talk to 10+ people on chat whereas back then, I can only talk to one person on the phone. It’s just crazy!

Ryan Sholin introduced so many websites and programs that I have never heard of. I’m not a big fan of current new media because I simply just can’t follow it! There is way too much to learn and understand. I thought Twitter was really crazy. The fact that there are people that sit in front of a computer all day and just chat.

On the Twitter website, the intro states : Twitter is a service for friends, family, and co–workers to communicate and stay connected through the exchange of quick, frequent answers to one simple question: What are you doing?

I just think it’s crazy how people stay connected at all times. And for what reason? Just to see what the other person is doing? I’m not a hater on new technology, but it just scares me that our verbal communication skills are slowly fading and now rely on chatting over the internet to express ourselves. I don’t know, am i being too traditional?

