When I was 2 years old I was asked to be a flower girl in my Uncle Charlie’s wedding. This was the first wedding I was a part of and I believe the year was 1987. I wore a hot pink, yes, hot pink, houp dress with lace on the bottom and along the sleeves. I carried a white basket with pink flower petals and walked down the aisle with my 1 year-old cousin Mattie. When I was 9 I was asked again to be a flower girl in my cousin Jonathan’s wedding. This time, the dress was a shimmering dark green color also with lace at the bottom and along the sleeves. I remember I wore my hair in a French braid and was nervous this time to walk down the aisle because it was with a boy. My cousin Mattie followed behind me with a different boy. The last wedding I was a part of, someone thought it would be “wonderful” to put me in charge of the guestbook for my cousin Loanne’s wedding. That, I tell you, is the most boring job in the world! I remember I was 12 and I quickly realized that if anyone asked me to be in charge of the guestbook again, I’d have to decline.

I turned 22 in June. Over the last 6-7 months, I have been asked to be a bridesmaid for 4 weddings in 2008, and have been invited to 6! I don’t know exactly why everyone has decided to get engaged and be married at the same time, but I guess that’s what happens when you turn a certain age. The wedding season officially kicks off this weekend when I will be trying on bridesmaid dresses for my old college roommate from Sonoma State University Saturday morning in Milpitas. From there I will be booking it over to a bachelorette party that begins later that night in Benicia!

It’s going to be a very crazy year filled with dress fittings, bachelorette parties (hopefully none that are too inappropriate!), trips to Las Vegas, wedding showers, wedding rehearsals, gifts, cakes, flowers, decorations, and of course, my favorite part, receptions!

